A Studio in the Woods, asitw New Orleans artist residency ASITW provides a tranquil haven for artists ASITW Studio ASITW Facilities for Artists a studio in the woods nonprofit artist retreat and learning center ASITW artist residency season ASITW guest artist ASITW.org artist studio in New Orleans artist workshop New Orleans visual, musician, composing, performance, literary, new media, and interdisciplinary artists Artist residencies by the Mississippi River Artist residency, Mississippi River A Studio in the Woods on the Mississippi River ASITW in New Orleans connects artists Friends of A Studio in the Woods ASITW, New Orleans artist residencies A Studio in the Woods in New Orleans A Studio in the Woods Artist Residencies in New Orleans, LA A Studio in the Woods, New Orleans artist residencies A Studio in the Woods, New Orleans ecosystem A Studio in the Woods, Tulane/Xavier Center for Bioenvironmental Research A Studio in the Woods, CBR

Former Residents


Pilot Residencies

  • M. Jude, artisan, India, 2001
  • Yuki Fukushima, potter, Japan, 2002
  • Francine Prevost, poet, France, 2002



Open Call Residencies



Special Invitation Residencies

  • Daniel Winkert, architect, Lousiana, 2003
  • Michael White, composer, Louisiana, special invitation 2003–2004 and Restoration resident 2008
  • Peter Coles, writer and photographer, England, 2006
  • Damien Aquiles, painter, Cuba, rescheduled from 2005 to 2007 due to Hurricane Katrina
  • James Langlois, writer – Partnership with Tulane University, Louisiana, 2007
  • Ada Bidiuc, writer – Partnership with Tulane University, Louisiana, 2008
  • Mollie Day, poet and environmental journalist, Louisiana, 2008
  • Alex Harris, photographer, North Carolina, 2011 www.alex-harris.com
  • Jean-Luc Delafontaine, writer – Partnership with Tulane University, Louisiana, 2011

 


River Residencies

 


Restoration Residencies:
Restoring New Orleans One Artist at a Time

  • Jason Chaffin, installation artist and musician, New Orleans, 2006
  • Jenny Kahn, painter, New Orleans, 2006
  • Monique Moss, choreographer and dancer, New Orleans, 2006
  • Valentine Pierce, writer, New Orleans, 2006
  • Yvette Sirker, playwright, director, and actor, New Orleans, 2006
  • Jane Hill, sculptor, New Orleans, 2007 www.janemariehill.com
  • Christy Speakman, multi media and conceptual artist, New Orleans, 2007 www.christyspeakman.com
  • Elizabeth Underwood, multi-media and conceptual artist, New Orleans, 2007 www.elizabethunderwood.net
  • Monique Michelle Verdin, photographer, New Orleans, 2007
  • Kathy Randels & Sean Larocca, artspot productions, 2008 www.artspotproductions.org
  • Gianna Chachere, filmmaker, New Orleans, 2008
  • Jon Gross, composer, New Orleans, 2008
  • Brigham Hall, composer, New Orleans, 2008 www.brighamhall.com
  • Raymond “Moose” Jackson, poet, New Orelans, 2008 www.myspace.com/illusionfields
  • Michael White, composer, New Orleans, 2008

 

Changing Landscapes Residencies

 


Ebb and Flow Residencies

 


Flint and Steel Residencies

  • Pippin Frisbie-Calder, visual artist, Louisiana, January 2015, www.pippinprint.com
    Faculty Partner: Tim McLean, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
  • Maria Möller, visual artist, Pennsylvania, February 2015, www.mariamoller.org
    Faculty Partner: Rich Campanella, School of Architecture
  • Jessica Levine, installation artist, West Virginia, March 2015, www.jessicalevineartist.com
    Faculty Partner: Jordan Karubian and Renata Ribeiro, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
  • Anna Fitzgerald, performing artist, Maryland, April 2015, www.annafitz.com
    Faculty Partner: Felicia Rabito, School of Public Health
  • Shay Nichols, composer, California, Fall 2015, www.shaynichols.com
    Faculty Partner: Tom Sherry, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
  • Matt Wright, visual artist, New York, Fall 2015
    Faculty Partner: Vicki Mayer, Communications
  • Christy George, writer, Oregon, Spring 2016, www.vanishinghometowns.com
    Faculty Partner: Laura Murphy, School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine
  • Jan Mun, media artist, New York, Spring 2016, www.janmun.com
    Faculty Partner: Howard Mielke, Pharmacology
  • Elizabeth Oscar Maynard, visual artist, California, Spring 2016, www.countrycounterculture.com
    Faculty Partner: Randy Sparks, Religious Studies, History Department
  • Jebney Lewis, sculptor, Spring 2016, Jebney Lewis and the Commotion Festival Super Creature
    Faculty Partner: Rick Snow, Music Science and Technology
  • Donna Cooper Hurt, visual artist, South Carolina, Spring 2016, www.donnacooperhurt.com
    Faculty Partner: Donata Henry, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
  • Jacqueline Ehle Inglefield, visual artist, Louisiana, Fall 2016, www.jacquelineehleinglefield.com
    Faculty Partner: Mark Gstohl, Theology, Xavier
  • Byron Asher, composer, Louisiana, Fall 2016, www.byronasher.bandcamp.com
    Faculty Partner: Sharlene Sinegal DeCuir, History, Xavier
  • Rachel Wallis, visual artist, Illinois, Spring 2017, www.rachelawallis.com
    Faculty Partner: Blakeslee Gilpin, History, Tulane
  • Esther Solondz, visual artist, Rhode Island, Spring 2017, www.esthersolondz.com
    Faculty Partner: Claudia Riegel, Entomology, Tulane
  • Sarah Dahnke, performing artist, New York, Spring 2017, www.sarahdahnke.com
    Faculty Partner: Stephen Ostertag, Sociology, Tulane

 


Adaptations Residencies